Document Versioning

APS stores information as XML documents. Every document is stored with a version number. Whenever you save changes on a document, APS will save the document under a new version number. The previous version of the document will not be overwritten. You can always review and restore previous document versions.

This creates a version history which makes it safe and comfortable to apply changes to your collection. For example, if you find out that removing the author from a book wasn’t your brightest idea, you can easily revert the document to its previous version and discard your changes. Even deleting and undeleting entire documents is possible.

The document in this screenshot has been created and then changed twice, resulting in three different version.